What Would You Do?

Hi Guys!

We made it to Wednesday and I’m still trucking along over here.  As I cross each day off the calendar, before I leave the office, I feel a little bit of stress being lifted off my shoulders because I’m one day closer to my coworker returning. 🙂

I’ve been dealing with a multitude of conflicting decisions lately.  Mainly, I’m trying to decide what I want to be when I grow up.  Seeing as I’m 32, I’d say it’s about time to figure it out, don’t you?  😉

The problem is that I have so many passions that keep pulling me in opposing directions.  I’m trying to find creative ways to combine them all.  All it takes is time (which I don’t have much of lately) and money (not rolling in dough, you know). 

In my heart, I know that I’m meant to do more than sit at a desk in an office all day.  While I love being able to help others and gain a great deal of satisfaction when I accomplish certain tasks, I know there’s something missing.  I don’t think that I went through everything that I have to not be helping others in their journey to finding health, wellness & balance in their lives.  Maybe my blog can serve some purpose in that, but I’m really hoping to be able to advise others one day. 

My other passion would be baking.  Growing up, I was always more artistic than athletic.  I remember taking an art class when I had to leave college for a semester because of my health.  My mom thought that I should do something with my time so that I wasn’t just moping around at home.  I set to work sketching and one day the instructor looked over at me from the other side of the table and commented on how nice the water looked in my sketch.  She then asked if I knew I could draw that way.  My response was that I thought everyone could do that.  I’ve never had enough confidence or faith in myself to see my potential.  I’ve always been one to criticize my own weaknesses, unfortunately. 

The good thing is that I’m finally surrounded with very supportive people.  My family has always been a constant.  Even though everyone has their own struggles to deal with we come together in important times (and now many more happy times).  Rob has given me so much in the year that I’ve known him.  For once I feel very safe and supported in my relationship.  Then, there are the friends I’ve met through the blogging community and those like my trainer who see within me what I sometimes don’t see in myself.  Like I’ve said many times before, I am my own worst enemy.

Anyway, I got a little off track there.  Where I was going with the art class is that my artistic abilities comes through in my baking.  Not only do I love creating delicious desserts, but my favorite part is putting the finishing touches onto my creations.  Sprinkles aren’t just randomly thrown onto my desserts, my friends.  Each one is specifically placed to be appealing to the eye.

Of course, being someone who has a bit of a sweet tooth and who has also battled weight; over the years I’ve come to find healthier substitutions to full-fat, high-cal treats.  Sometimes the real thing is totally worth it and others not so much.  I’d love to share my ideas with others and let them see that it’s all about balance and you truly can treat yourself….every day, even. 😉

What would you do if you had passions that lie outside of the corporate world?  How would you go about following your dreams while still being able to pay the bills?  My mom suggested that I wait until the new year to pursue things.  My car lease is up in November, so a car with lower payments will be helpful in reaching my goals.

Believe it or not, my post originally wasn’t going to pertain to the above.  I guess it’s been on my mind and I feel stuck. Ugh. 😦  Anyway, what I intended to ask was more to do with purchasing personal training sessions.

My last free session that came with my membership will be quickly used up next Wednesday morning.  The gym offers a 20 session package for $599 and a 40 session package for $1099.  Since I don’t have a money tree growing in my back yard, I’m wondering if I should hold off on a purchase. 

I see the sessions as an investment in my health.  I really think that James can get my body to where I’d like it to be through our functional training workouts.  He pushes me to do more than I’d be able to do on my own.  He’s also careful to show me exercises that are manageable with my knee problems.

On the other hand, do you know what I could be doing with $599?   I need new clothes!  My sister is getting married next summer and I’m in the wedding, so I know there will be expenses associated with that.  Once I turn my car in, I’m sure I’ll have to put some money down.  Also, what about those career passions I mentioned just a few minutes ago?  Should I put that money toward them?  Aaaahhhh!  What would you do? 

Ok, enough rambling for today.  This chick has to get back to work!

Hope you have a wonderful day!  Let me know, what would you do?

Kim

8 thoughts on “What Would You Do?

  1. Hi Kim. As far as the training goes it is for your health but it is expensive. It’s nice to have someone to push you and get your body where you want. Have you looked into groupons, I have found a lot good deals for workouts on there. Or else maybe a workout buddy, I don’t know where you are on Long Island but you can shoot me an email I am a good motivator!!!

  2. Hey Kima!! I think you should continue with the personal training–your health and happiness are important for you to be able to pursue your career goals and to just enjoy life. If you aren’t happy with yourself you will never fully enjoy any career/life paths you go down. XOXO

    • Thanks, Jeeby! I decided to go for it. I had my first session on Wednesday and almost lost Tuesday night’s dinner. LOL. Now, I just have to get myself to the gym more often on my own. As for work, I have stuff to talk to you about. Love you! XOXO

Leave a comment