The Go-To Girl

Hi Friends!

I can’t tell you how great it felt rolling over in bed this morning and not having anywhere to be at a certain time.  It felt like a Saturday even though it’s only Thursday.  Rob is home too, so some random silliness ensued upon our waking.  If his friends only knew how silly and sweet he can be.  They really only see a certain side of him.  I get to see all. 🙂

I’ve been waiting for this day for about a month now.  You might remember my having anxiety about one of my coworkers taking a two-week vacation and my having to cover her work.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind helping out in the least; however, it was the type of work that needed to be done on top of my own workload.

My coworker returned from her trip yesterday and I was feeling like only a shadow of myself.  My face looks gaunt and there are dark circles under my eyes.  I haven’t been able to take a lunch break in over two weeks and I’ve been staying late to finish things up.  There were many days I’d pass the lunch room on the way to the restroom and see some of my friends sitting around a table, laughing and eating their lunches.  I walked by in a hurry, waving as I passed the glass that encompasses the lunch room.  One of the girls mentioned to me yesterday that she had been worried about me.  She was wondering why I was chained to my desk and thought that I might just quit.

By yesterday I was literally hunching my back, due to stress that seems to congregate there, and didn’t even realize it was happening until a coworker called me out on it.  He also mentioned that I should get my coworker flowers for returning.  Ummmm….how about she should be getting me flowers for dealing with everything I’ve had to do.  He was only kidding, but I wasn’t really in the mood to hear it.  My own work was sliding and you know how I hate not performing at my best.

I thought that with my coworker’s return I would be out of work at 5PM on the dot.  That wasn’t the case yesterday though.  At 6:40PM I finally made my way out of the building relieved that I had made it to my long weekend.  Relieved until a text popped through from my boss telling me about a meeting that was to happen next Wednesday.  Um, great timing?  I guess I’ll just have to deal with it next week when I’m back in the office, but I know I’m going to be worrying about everything I have to do until then.

The thing that bothers me is that I seem to be everyone’s “go-to” person.  I cover the reception desk so the receptionist can have lunch, even though I don’t get to take my own break.  I cover other people when they’re out on maternity leave or vacation or they are just plain lazy and are passing the buck.  Yet, I’ll be out for two days and running my reports for that meeting Wednesday will wait for me to do until I return.

It is what it is, I guess, right?  I’ll be honest.  There was one day I was so overwhelmed at work that I was ready to just get up, walk out the door and not return.  The stress I have isn’t worth any of the return.  We’ll see what happens….

On a brighter note, I’m off today through the Labor Day holiday on Monday.  Yay!  There are lots of things that have been on the back-burner for me to write about and I’m hoping to get on here everyday until my return to the office.

As for now, I have a hungry man waiting to grab breakfast with me.  It’s a beautiful day here in NY.  I’m thinking that some coffee (much needed right now) and breakfast consumed outside while overlooking the water sounds perfect.

Wishing you a great day!

Kim

PS: A special hello to my sister’s coworker.  Thanks for reading! 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Go-To Girl

  1. HAHA, thanks Kim for the shout out :)! I look forward to reading your blog everyday! Now relax and enjoy the long weekend and don’t stress!

    • I was so happy to hear that when Jess told me. 🙂 I have a hard time relaxing. Currently I’m taking a break from cleaning, but tomorrow we’re going out east for the day and hopefully relaxing is all I will do! Have a great weekend!

    • One of my coworkers laughs because she said that my cubicle is like a revolving door. So many people are in and out asking me to do things. I agree, it makes me feel good that people trust in me to get things done the right way, but they are totally burning me out. When I first started my boss told me that he was going to protect me from this happening. I have yet to see the protection. Hopefully things will get better at your company and they’ll be able to start rehiring sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

