Pressing the Reset Button

Hi Friends!

It’s been forever since I’ve had the chance to write.  Between craziness at work, the holidays and coming down with an awful cold there hasn’t been time for much lately.  It’s a whole new year though.  Can you believe it?!  I feel like 2011 went by in the blink of an eye!

With the new year comes a clean slate.  It’s a time to reflect on the past (without lingering too long about our “should’ve, could’ve, would’ve”s) and move forward with knowledge gained from the past year.  

While listening to the radio on my way into work the other day someone mentioned a reset button.  It made me start thinking how the change from one year into the next is like pressing an imaginary reset button, kind of like Staples’ “easy button”. 

This yearly reset allows us to wipe the slate clean and start fresh with our resolutions for the new year.  What we mentally weren’t ready to do a week prior is now our mission, once the magic ball drops from the sky, ringing in our new year.

I have to say that I was in a negative place towards the end of 2011.  I was disgruntled with work issues, which then began to seep into other areas of my life.  I began struggling with eating issues again, as a result, which led to a variety of emotions including: sadness, disappointment and anger.  Of course, I’m like an open book.  I definitely wear my emotions on my sleeve and even when I tried to hide them Rob knew something was wrong.  My being down brought him down too and that isn’t what I wanted at all. 😦

Nothing magically changed overnight, from 2011 into 2012.  I woke up with the same issues, but I think that being able to press the reset button in my mind has given me some clarity and peace of mind.  I wrote some goals for myself which I’ll share in another post.  Rob and I are in the process of writing some goals for ourselves as a couple, as well.  It’s so easy to say “we’ll do it one day”, but as we learned in 2011 with the loss of some loved ones, life is WAY too short to put things off for “one day”.  I loved that it was Rob’s idea for the goals as a couple.  Sometimes, he’s a complete mush-ball.  Don’t tell his friends or family that.  It’s our secret, ok?  😉

I have many plans for 2012, with consistent blogging being included.  So, my friends, I will be back soon to fill you in on some goals of mine and catch up about life, in general.

Wishing you a new year filled with much happiness, many smiles, good health, success & fond memories!

Kim

6 thoughts on “Pressing the Reset Button

  1. Happy New Year, Kim! You’re so lucky to have a great guy to be your teammate! I think goals are great–anytime of year! Can’t wait to read about your success–I know you’re going to get there! 😀

    • Thanks! You too, Melissa!! I know this is going to be a GREAT one for you!

      I feel very fortunate to have Rob in my life. I got a little choked up on Saturday, because for the first time in forever I’m surrounded by truly good people. Your Prince Charming will appear. Live your life, be open to love and amazing things will happen. XO

Leave a Reply

