Banana Muffin Meltdown

Hi Friends!

Wednesday again!  I swear, where does the time go?  As I get older time, seems to move faster and faster.  Can we say SCARY?!?!

Lately, so much has been going on in both my personal and professional life that I feel like there’s never time to just breathe and be in the moment.  Luckily, many of those things are positive.  Others, like work stress and Rob’s surgery become a little much to handle at times.

Side Track – Surgery went very smoothly for Rob.  We were at the hospital for 12 hours, but the surgery itself was under 2 hours.  I was happy to see his loving smile in the recovery room.  He was all mushy.  I wish I had a video camera to show him how sweet he was.  He’s still in pain, with limited mobility, but at least the worst is over with (knock on wood).

Back on Track – Lack of sleep and heightened emotions from worry and stress had me very cranky after work yesterday.  I felt like a zombie and food wasn’t very appealing to me.  I had some ripe bananas that I decided I would make banana muffins with, but couldn’t find my whole wheat flour for the life of me.  Rob saw me searching cabinets and the freezer multiple times.  I know it is somewhere in that kitchen.  Where it is, I have no clue….

Anyway, the banana was already mashed and in the bowl, along with some all-purpose flour.  After 10 minutes of searching the entire thing just got dumped into the garbage.  I didn’t have the energy to deal with something so unimportant, in the grand scheme of things.  I could have made the muffins with what I had, but I was so annoyed with not being able to find the whole wheat flour, after a day of annoying situations at work, that the best solution for me was to trash everything.

I then made myself a quick omelet and cuddled up to Rob for the rest of the night.  He’s still in so much pain.  It’s hurts me to see what he’s going through and not be able to take the pain away for him.  I feel like I’m constantly hovering around him, but at least he knows that I care. 😉

The last thing I wanted to do this morning was wake up extra early to make it to a training session at the gym.  I wouldn’t allow myself to back out and was proud of myself once it was all over and done with.  The trainer doesn’t want me losing any more weight.  Now, we’re focusing on “toning” up and building some muscle.  Of course, this means I really need to work on upping my calories (the hardest part for me….of all things).

I’m looking forward to this week being over and taking the weekend to be with Rob and also to take some much-needed “Me Time”.  All the go, go, GO has really been wearing me out and I feel like I might have a breakdown….literally.

Ok, time to get some more work done.  A little less than 4 hours left here.  Can’t wait to be on my way back home!

Wishing you a Wonderful Wednesday!

Kim

2 thoughts on “Banana Muffin Meltdown

  1. Oh, I so know that feeling! It’s beyond frustrating when you’re doing something you didn’t really want to do to begin with and then it doesn’t go smoothly! At least Rob is recovering and will be so much better off in the long run. I’m the same way, though, I hate seeing someone I love hurting. 😦

  2. baking meltdowns are the absolute worst. i’ve thrown out entire batches of cupcakes and stayed up all night remaking them. there was a period during which i wasn’t even allowed to bake because of this tendency. hopefully you’ll fine the flower and have your muffins soon- and i bet you’ll be able to enjoy them that much more!

Leave a Reply

