Family Weekend Tradition

Hi Guys!

 Sorry I’ve gone MIA.  Things have been more than a little hectic here. One of the other girls asked that I sit in her place for reception coverage this afternoon, which is granting me the time to say hello and post. So…..HELLO! 🙂

It’s a gloomy day here in NY.  The past few weeks seem to have been filled with rain.  Luckily, it’s looking like the weekend will be beautiful, which is perfect since Rob, my mom and I will be traveling to the Albany area to visit my brother for his Family Weekend at his college.

My brother is a senior this year.  I still remember holding him when he was a baby, since there’s an 11 year gap between us.  Where does the time go? I feel so old!  I can only imagine what it feels like as a parent, watching your children grow, become their own person and follow their own paths to happiness. I have a hard time letting go, so I know that will be rough for me.  Rob likes to joke that my kids will be over-loved. LOL.  I definitely take after my mom (which isn’t a bad thing). 😉

This weekend should be a nice little adventure.  We usually take the scenic route up to the school. It’s the perfect time to visit, with the leaves starting to change colors.  The area will be gorgeous in another few weeks.  I always say that I need to plan a long weekend in the area around that time.

My mom and I are usually partners in crime when we make the trip every year.  With Rob joining us we know there are a few secrets we’re going to have to fill him in on.  I’m excited to see my brother’s new townhouse (dorm), visit with my aunt and her family who live nearby and go pumpkin picking at a stand that’s around the corner from their house. It’s tradition and a must to get some pumpkins there.

Rob decided to treat us to getting a hotel room, instead of infringing upon my aunt, even though I know she’d love to have us stay with her.  We figured that my mom can visit with her sister and we can have our own little mini vacation. It’ll be fun!  I’ll be sure to take Rob’s camera with us so you can enjoy some of the scenery and the random adventures that will ensue on our road trip.

Wishing you a wonderful Wednesday!

Kim

2 thoughts on “Family Weekend Tradition

Leave a Reply

