When “No” Becomes “Yes”

Hi Guys!

Middle of the week….I am starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  Even better?  I was asked yesterday to attend an advanced PowerPoint class on behalf of my company, so I’ll be out of the office on Monday for training.  It’s always nice to get out of the office to switch things up a bit.  Doing new things is also good for someone like me who tends to stick to what they know and never venture out of the norm.  There’s no turning back now.  I’m excited for something new and also to add more to my skill base.  It never hurts, that’s for sure.

This morning started off with an early gym session to pump out a functional workout.  My core and shoulders will be loving and hating me at about the same time.  I can’t begin to tell you the changes I’ve seen in my core since adding functional workouts to my routine.  This is the first time EVER that I’ve actually seen things changing for the positive with my own two eyes and also realize that what I’m looking to achieve is within my reach.

I have to tell you that besides the stress I’ve been going through recently, I’m in a happy mood today.  My stressors are things that can be fixed.  Now might not be the time to fix them, but at least I can try to stay positive knowing that I’m not stuck forever.  Instead, I’m trying to focus on all of the good in my life.  Sometimes, in the moment, you forget what’s really important in life, like your health, the people you love and all of the struggles you’ve encountered on your journey that you actually tackled.

Within the past year I’d say that I’ve come a long way.  My disordered eating patterns have changed drastically for the better (not perfect yet, but much, MUCH better than they had been) and I’ve definitely grown as a person.  I’m still shy compared to most others, but I’m breaking certain barriers that I once had.

At one time, if a person told me “No” I would take it at face value.  Now, I’ve learned to push the envelope a bit and question “Why?”  I’ve learned that communication is key and sometimes you have to explain yourself in order to turn that “no” into a “yes”.

If you remember, about a month ago, I mentioned that I tried an online training program, but it seemed to be “One Size Fits All“.  They didn’t seem to want to budge with the program they were giving others, which upset me because we are all unique and need different things for success, just like each child learns a different way in school.  The teacher wouldn’t ask the student to adapt to a style that doesn’t work for them.  Instead, the teacher would try to incorporate different methods of teaching so that each individual child could learn the same concept in their own way (at least, that’s what a good teacher would do).

I was honestly bummed because I’ve seen others who have had so much success with the program and I was really hard on myself for not being able to be one of those successes.  I knew the method wasn’t healthy for me though, so I told the company that I was going to have to stop. 

The trainer reached out to me and tried to explain her reasoning for doing things their way.  In turn, I responded with what this crazy mind of mine does why I needed things a different way.  Do you know what happened?  The trainer came back to me letting me know that they would work with my needs.  YAY!  🙂

It turns out that they thought I would have problems, knowing my eating disorder history, with the program I was asking for.  My reasoning helped them to see that the method I was asking for would actually help me.  They told me to always be honest with them and let them know if I’m having any eating issues.  They want me to achieve my fitness goals in the healthiest way possible.

Sometimes, you have to push in order to receive.  I think good ol’ Rob has rubbed off on me a bit.  😉  He pushes for what he wants in life and most times he gets what he wants.  If you don’t ask you’ll never know what might be possible.

Ok, back to work I go.  I hope this Wednesday is treating you well.  Only a few more days until the weekend!

Kim

11 thoughts on “When “No” Becomes “Yes”

  1. Oh yay! So glad you’re feeling happier. 🙂 I think a big key to that control component of an eating disorder is advocating for yourself in other parts of your life. When you feel like you have control, you don’t feel the need to control the eating component in an unhealthy way. Does that make any sense!?!? Anyway, glad you’re in a good place! Enjoy that day out of the office!

    • It completely makes sense to me. Whenever I feel like my life is out of control I become consumed with the eating. That seems to be a trait that runs in my family, unfortunately, but my siblings don’t go to the same extent that I do. I’ve stuffed my voice within since childhood and I see how not speaking up has influenced certain factors and outcomes in my life.

      Thank you for always being such a great support to me!

      • I’ve had to come to terms with the idea that we really don’t have control OVER anything that happens in our life. Once I let go of the idea that I had control over things…man, life got easier and so much better. I could just LIVE.

        That being said, I realize this method of thinking doesn’t work for everyone and it certainly didn’t happen over night.

        I do love you and I am so happy to hear of all these positve changes.

  2. congrats on all that you have accomplished! and especially on seeing that! i think it’s sometimes hard to appreciate all the ways in which we’ve changed and grown when we’re on a battle for our health. and also that’s awesome that you spoke up for yourself- i really admire you and that ability of yours to be open and honest with people. you mentioned in your post that you were shy- so that’s a pretty incredible thing to do! way to go!

    • Thank you so much, Rachel! It’s taken me forever to get to this point, but I’m thankful that I finally made it here. The little things that we try to better ourselves with add up over time. Sometimes, there are little milestones in life that you don’t see coming, but when you hit them you know you’ve done something great!

      Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Rachel! I think being able to see the accomplishments is sometimes the hardest part. I tend to be very critical of myself, so it’s definitely an accomplishment all around. My shyness has stifled me over the years, but writing has been a good outlet for me. I also know that there are others who struggle and maybe by letting them into my world they won’t feel alone or will get some ideas from what I’ve gone through. Thank you for stopping by and saying hello! 🙂

Leave a Reply

