Trampled Towel Palace

Happy Friday, Friends!

Seeing as I started the week off thinking that it was Tuesday, rather than Monday, it seemed like Friday was taking forever to get here.  Now that it has, I’m excited to get my weekend started.

Rob drove me into work today, because he picked me up last night on our way to the concert (more on that in a bit) and I left it overnight in the work parking lot.  It was nice having that extra little bit of down time with him in the morning.  We left a little early, made a quick stop at Starbucks (Venti Bold & a wrap for him and a Venti Awake Tea for me), and chatted the entire way to my building.  He dropped me off at the front door about 15 minutes early and I got started with the work day. 

Those 15 minutes have made my morning feel extra long, for some reason.  It never helps when your e-mail is down for the millionth time again and you have to wait for IT to come get things going.  IT performed an downgrade “upgrade” on our computer systems last week and things have been a nightmare ever since.  I share a calendar and e-mail inbox with my boss and all of the permissions have been messed up.  I can’t do anything on his behalf, which is frustrating for both of us.  The system has also been deleting e-mails on its own and blocking e-mails from coming through.  When I arrived this morning my inbox was showing as me not receiving any e-mails since 3:35 yesterday afternoon, which if you knew the amount of e-mailing I do you’d know that would be impossible. Errrr…..

Oh well, let’s look at the positive.  It’s Friday, it’s beautiful out AND I get to see my mom this weekend!  Rob is heading down to a cigar festival and then Atlantic City with a friend of his and I’m spending some much-needed girl time with my mom.  Our list of plans keeps growing…

  • The Christmas Tree Shoppe
  • Yankee Candle Store
  • Walk around the pond at our favorite park.
  • Grab some Skim Mistos at Starbucks together
  • Possibly get our nails done
  • Finish the engagement party “to-dos” off our “to-do” list
  • Get my hair done
  • Random Errands
  • Trip to: Kohl’s, Bed Bath & Beyond, the mall, etc
  • A night of Lifetime movies, since I’ll be sleeping over

I’m excited!  There’s nothing like time with my mom!

As for the concert last night, it was a bit of a disappointment. 😦  Rob and I made it to the city after almost 2 hours of driving, due to the rain, some crazy drivers and finding no place to park.  We had tickets, but the line to get in was ridiculous. 

A large group of us made our way through Central Park and finally found our way to the Great Lawn. It could have been perfect had the weather held up, but the rain wouldn’t hold off.  Rob was smart, bringing garbage bags to cover the grass with and then towels for us to sit on.  We cuddled together, holding an umbrella over our heads, and closed our eyes to enjoy the music.  It was actually very romantic, in spite of the rain.  We made it through one piece of the Philharmonic playing and then two additional songs by Andrea and then we were trampled on. 

At that point, it was completely uncomfortable.  People didn’t care if they were walking over you and they continued to talk as the concert went on.  Rob quickly got me up off of our towel palace and pulled me through the craziness. 

If you remember, we were supposed to go to the concert with friends, but everyone backed out.  As we walked through Central Park, making our way back to the car, Rob said I’m the only one that never lets him down and that he loves our adventures together.  My heart soared.  Each of us looked so silly, wearing garbage bags and towels wrapped around our shoulders, but I was happy as a clam. 🙂

Even though we didn’t get the full experience we were hoping for, I’m glad that we went.  Any time I have with Rob is treasured and I love exploring and doing new things with him.

Now, my friends, it’s time to get back into work mode.  I’m so not in work mode today.  I want to get out and enjoy this beautiful weather!

Wishing you a Wonderful Weekend!

Kim

2 thoughts on “Trampled Towel Palace

    • His friends would never believe how sweet he is. They see a completely different side of him (not that he doesn’t go out of his way for his friends…it’s just different). Took me FOREVER to find him. I’m sure your Rob is right around the corner. 😉

      I cried almost the entire way back, after seeing my mom. It was a great weekend with her! Thanks! Hope you’re adjusting to being home nicely, girly!

Leave a Reply

