Getting Off the Merry-Go-Round

Happy Friday, Friends!

I can’t explain how happy I am that less than a full workday separates me from my weekend.  I’m doing the Friday Happy Dance in my chair right now. Woot! Woot! 🙂

I was groggy when I woke up this morning and my stomach wasn’t feeling just right.  Normally, I would roll over and give myself that extra hour of sleep before getting ready for work, but I had an appointment at the gym and wasn’t going to miss it. 

Remember when I was stood up by that trainer about a month ago?  If not, you can read about it here & here.  About a week later she called with a sorry excuse of an explanation as to why she didn’t show.  I knew she was lying.  Have I mentioned how much I detest lies?  I’d rather hear the truth than know that you’re trying to pull the wool over my eyes.  She simply could have said that she had forgotten the appointment, but she didn’t.  Everyone makes mistakes.  I would have accepted that and moved on.  After hearing her excuse on my voicemail, I pressed the delete button and never called back.

On Wednesday, one of the guys at the front desk approached me during my warm-up asking if I was going to take my free sessions.  I briefly told him what happened and he promised that he was going to set me up with the best trainer they have.  Before leaving the gym, I was introduced to James and was given an appointment for this morning.

After speaking with him for the first few minutes this morning, I knew he was the right fit for my training needs.  People tend to think I’m younger than I really am (very thankful for my genes) and always try to hand me off to the newbie trainers.  Most times, I know more than they do.  I explain “THIS HAS BEEN MY LIFE FOR YEARS!”  As I responded to James’ questions his eyebrows started to arch up.  He acknowledged that I know my stuff and that he’s going to bring me to that next level that I’ve been trying to reach.

Remember when I had my knee problems (You can find some posts about it herehere & here)? Ever since then I’ve been deathly afraid of doing something wrong in the gym to make my knees flare up again.  Just a few weeks ago I started to slowly add lower body exercises into the mix.  I never run because I’m afraid of what the impact might do, but have been doing other forms of cardio.  I explained my fears and James told me how we’re going to correct the problem.  I’m excited!

Another fear of mine deals with the nutrition aspect of things.  I told James a little bit about my weight history.  We went over my meals and I impressed him with my tuna salad recipe.  Fat free greek yogurt , mixed in with a lil mustard, to add some creaminess and a zing?  Yes please! 😉  I’d take it over mayo any day of the week!

After hearing me out, he told me what I already know deep down.  He told me that I’m not eating enough.  I know that this is the root of all of my problems.  It’s why I never have enough energy, it’s why I have hit a plateau with my weight loss, it’s why I haven’t been making gains with my lifts and it’s why I eventually end up binging.  I have an honest fear about upping calories, but I know it’s what I must do.  With James’ guidance I’m going to up my cals and hopefully see the results I’ve been searching for.  I’m truly scared, but I know it must be done.  If not, I’m going to end up in the same cycle I’ve been on for years.  It’s a ride I wouldn’t wish on anyone and I want out!  I’m getting off this merry-go-round and never looking back!

What’s something that’s a true fear of yours that isn’t a second thought to someone else?  My food fears have been a struggle for as long as I can remember.  I’m much better now with adding variety and some fun to my meals.  I’m a work in progress.  My mom fears driving on the highway.  We all have our thing. 😉

Kim

2 thoughts on “Getting Off the Merry-Go-Round

    • It’s totally a mental thing. The good thing is that I’m aware of the problem and taking steps to fix it. I meet with the trainer on Wednesday and hope to discuss the issue more with him. He’ll be reading my food diary to help keep me accountable.

Leave a Reply

