The Calm Before The Storm

Hi Guys!

  I’m settling into work after stuffing my face with breakfast.  My stomach was growling loudly as I went in to meet with my boss this morning.  He’s been out of the office for almost two weeks, so we had a lot to catch up on.  I was excited to show him that his unread e-mails went from over 1400 to 301!  He exclaimed, “How did you do that?”  By the end of yesterday my eyes were starting to cross, but I was determined to knock those e-mails down to something much more manageable for him. 

I told him during my interview back in March that I would get him organized.  For 10 years he hasn’t had an assistant, so there was a lot for us to cover when I first started.  Slowly but surely we’re getting there….

There’s no way he didn’t hear my stomach screaming for food as we went over things.  I didn’t workout this morning, so there was no protein shake consumed during my commute.  I was very hungry yesterday, for some reason, and I guess that carried over to today. 

Nothing appealed to me as I was packing my meals for the day.  I’m tired of my usual meals.  There’s only so much oatbran one person can consume over the course of months, ya know?  I kind of threw a mish-mash of stuff into my bag, said my million and one goodbyes to Rob and then was on my way.

After meeting with my boss I hurried to the kitchen to fix breakfast up.  You know my breakfast wouldn’t be complete without coffee, right?

 Then, I always have some sort of protein.  Like today, protein on workdays is usually in the form of hardboiled egg whites.  I make a big batch on Sundays and they’re so easy to grab for breakfast and/or snacks.

Last, but certainly not least, was my Cinnamon-Raisin Ezekiel English Muffin spread with a Light French Onion Laughing Cow Wedge.

 All together now.  Smile for Mama!

 It was just what I needed!  Although, I kind of am missing my protein shake.  Maybe that will be my snack this evening. 🙂

Now that my belly is full I can work away.  The office is pretty quiet.  The majority of my coworkers who are in higher level positions are on vacation and certain people that we work with overseas are away for the entire month.  This is the calm before the storm, I’m told.  Once September hits I’m going to have to buckle my seatbelt and get ready for the ride.   Meetings galore are on the forefront and can you guess who creates the books that go along with the meetings?  Did you guess me?  If so, you’re right!

I’m going to enjoy the quiet while it lasts.  I’ll also be covering for a coworker when she goes to Italy over the next two weeks.  The quiet is going to be very short-lived, my friends, I’m telling ya.

Time to get back to work, but wishing you a fantastic day!

Kim

Leave a comment