Flappable

Hi Guys!

  We’ve almost made it to the weekend.  We can do it!  The past few days have been a bit crazy here.  We have some major meetings today and tomorrow with suppliers from Italy.  I want everything to go smoothly and all I could imagine were our guests not being picked up from the airport on time, meals not being delivered and wine not being supplied.  Even things that I thought I was in control of, like running reports and binding them into booklets turned into a bigger ordeal than need be.  Sometimes, things are just out of your control, but you do what you need to do.

I’ve grown a lot over the years.  Little things, like making a phone call, used to stress me out.  Yes, I used to be afraid to even order something as simple as a pizza.  I’d have to write out exactly what I was going to say and then it would take about 20 minutes for me to actually place the call.  I have no clue what my fear was, but it was truly there.

Being in the corporate world has allowed me to grow as a person.  There are certain things that you can’t depend on others for and it pushes you to break through your fears in order to strive to be at your best.  Phone calls still scare me a bit, but now I’m calling other countries and arranging things.  A far cry from being afraid to order a pizza!

I remember looking for a job years ago.  In one of the advertisements the poster stated that you must not be “flappable”.

Flappable – easily upset or confused, especially under stress.

My mom was helping me during my job search.  When we saw the posting we both looked at each other and laughed.  That most definitely wasn’t the job for me.  I used to worry and stress about EVERYTHING!  I’ve come a long way since then though. 🙂

This morning had me stressed knowing that I couldn’t seem to depend on others to do their own jobs.  I was doing my own and then keeping on top of them to make sure that everything was complete.  I literally woke up sweating this morning, worrying about a wine delivery for lunch.  When you think about it in the grand scheme of things, no one is going to die if wine isn’t presented with lunch or car service is late, but I always try to do things to the best of my ability.  I see the end result as a reflection of my work ethic.  Having the end result be dependent on others’ contributions stresses me out.  I guess that’s why I never liked group projects in school. 😉

Anyway, now that my heart has calmed down a bit, I’m going to warm up my coffee and settle in.  I’m still waiting for that wine…..

Hope you have a great day!

Kim

Leave a Reply

