The “Shake Queen”

Hi Friends,

The weekend is slowly coming to a close and I’m in denial that 10 short hours from now I’ll almost be pulling into the parking lot at work.  Is it bad that I’m already dreading next week?  One of my coworkers will be leaving on a two-week vacation at that time and I will be covering her.  Let’s just say I’m not looking forward to it.  I love her, don’t get me wrong, but I’m not looking forward to that responsibility.  Anyway, I’m going to try not to worry about it until next Sunday.

If you know me by now you can guess that I’m running on very little sleep.  It seems without fail that whenever Rob is away I have trouble sleeping.  I felt like a zombie walking around today and fell asleep while reading this afternoon.  I’m starting to feel a little more like myself now and hopefully I’ll be tired at a normal time tonight so I’m not running on empty tomorrow.  My plan is to wake up early and make it to the gym, so getting to sleep at a normal hour is a necessity.  You can bet that I’ll be enjoying one of my delicious protein shakes after rocking my workout.  It’s one of the things I look forward to after getting my sweat on.

New to you fact about me: I worked in the gym industry for 8 years, part of which while going through college.

During those 8 years I perfected the craft of protein shake making.  I loved having access to the high performance blenders at the gym and worked on getting my own shakes to the perfect consistency so I could make the members great shakes of their own.  Man, do I wish I had one of those blenders now.  They were great!

One day, I was sitting in my office and I overheard two members looking for me.  There were three people standing behind the counter that day, but they specifically wanted me to make their shakes.  They deemed me the “Shake Queen” and it became their nickname for me going forward.  Hey, I’ll take it. 😉

My pictures don’t do it justice, but this was my creation yesterday:

You remember The Players, right?

Those are frozen banana chunks in the bag.  I usually cut bananas into 8 equal pieces before freezing so I know exactly how much I’m getting at one time.  I usually use 1/4 of a banana in my shakes.

Pour In The Iced Americano

If you use a Magic Bullet, I use the bottom line marker as a guide to where I fill my liquid to.

Add You Favorite Protein Powder (I like BSN Lean Dessert)

Throw in Your Fruit  I prefer to use frozen fruit because of the consistency it lends to the shake.  You can add any extras, like peanut butter, at this time too.

Fill the Remainder of Your Blender Cup With Ice & Some Water (to get things moving)

Twist On the Cap

And……SHAKE!

Then, Shake Some More!

What a Ham!!

Get Your Blend On

Protein Shake Perfection

So Thick & Creamy

Slip In a Straw & Enjoy

I Wish You Could Have Tasted It.  Don’t Worry, I Enjoyed it in Your Honor. 😉

Time for this girly to unwind and get ready for the work week.  Let’s hope the sand man pays a visit tonight so I can actually get some sleep and wake up fully recharged.

Have a great night!

Kim

8 thoughts on “The “Shake Queen”

    • Thanks, Lisa! I wasn’t sure if I would like the coffee the first time I made this, but now I’m addicted. It gives me a little extra jolt. I usually make it with chocolate protein powder, but decided to switch it up the other day.

    • I love mine, but it’s getting old now. I foresee having to buy another one in the near future. I have my eyes set on the Vitamix that everyone is talking about. If it can hold out until Christmas maybe I’ll add the Vitamix to my wish list. 😉

  1. Love the addition of coffee especially for a morning smoothie! I haven’t heard the word ‘sandman’ in ages!! I hope he visits me tonight too!

    • Me too! Glad Starbucks can come to the rescue when I’m feeling lazy and don’t want to brew the coffee myself. 😉 Hope the Sandman visited you last night. Not sure why he popped into my head. I must be getting old. 🙂

Leave a Reply

