Birthday Wishes

Hi Friends,

I’m currently blogging from bed.  I woke up this morning feeling even worse than yesterday. WTH? 😦  This bug doesn’t want to go away.  Rob has been sick since Saturday, but seems to be much better today, so I’m guessing the bug will run the same course for me.

We both went to the doctor yesterday and were given prescriptions.  I’m holding off one more day.  I really don’t like to take medicine.  I even hold off on taking Advil whenever I can.  The doctor noticed that my fingers were cold and also that I seemed to be dehydrated, even though I’ve been drinking a lot of water.  Even when I’m not sick I am ALWAYS cold.  Work bought be a foot heater just for that reason.  Anyway, she thought that I might have some thyroid issues and/or an iron deficiency (quite possible because my iron is always on the low side).  We’ll see what the test results find.  I was just glad to get everything out of the way at once.

My boss was away on business yesterday and came back to the office around 1 PM today.  Being the stubborn person that I am, I forced myself to go to work so that I could catch up on what I missed the past 2 days and also be there for his return.  One look at me and he told me that he was sending me home.  We went over a few things I had waiting for him and then he sent me on my way.

The drive home was actually not the greatest and I was happy to walk through the door, eat a little something and then jump into bed.  Rob came into the bedroom only to find me with my laptop out.  He said, “this is not what you should be doing”.  Yes, I know I have a problem.  I just can’t relax.  At least I’m in bed laying down, right?  I will try to put the laptop away after posting. “Try” being the key word. 😉

Even though we were both sick yesterday I wanted Rob’s birthday to be special.  I made a simple yet tasty dinner of London Broil, Roasted Potatoes & Carrots and String Beans.  The London Broil cooked a little quicker than I thought it would under the broiler, resulting in drier meat than I would have liked, but Rob assured me that he liked it and thanked me for making his birthday special.  I think he’s just really good at making me feel ok about things. 🙂

I had already given him his card and gift (a gift certificate for a hot stone massage) at breakfast, so he thought his special day was over.  He didn’t think he was ending his birthday without blowing some candles out to make a wish, did he?

Let There Be Cake

I got Rob’s favorite, a Carvel Ice Cream Cake.  I’ve always been a fan of the chocolate crunchies inside, myself.  Have you ever noticed that Carvel ice cream has a very distinct smell?

Bring on the Lights

Time to Make a Wish

Hoping All Your Wishes Come True, Rob!  Happy Birthday!

After fiddling with my cell phone to take pictures in the dark and realizing what a hassle it was, it definitely reminded me to get a move on buying a new camera!

Ok, now I’m honestly going to “try” to get some rest.  It’s almost the weekend. Hurray!

Kim

Leave a Reply

