Held Hostage on a Beautiful Day

Morning Friends!

It’s a beautiful day here in NY.

I’m stuck inside though.  Remember how my throat was feeling kind of sore yesterday?

I’m home, sick. 😦

Rob ended up being my hero yesterday.  He met me at my office to take the remote to my car to bring to Toyota and had it back to me within the hour.  Problem solved!  In the mean time, I was in a meeting with my boss who found out that my throat was off.  He told me, “DO NOT COME IN IF YOU’RE SICK!!”  I replied that I always try to come to work, unless I’m absolutely feeling horrible.  To which he told me not to feel bad if I don’t come in the next morning.

On my way home, I stopped at the store to FINALLY get that much-needed grocery shopping in.  I picked up lozenges to add to my treatment of cups upon cups of tea.  I started to feel a little better before bed, but Rob insisted that I wouldn’t be going in today.  He reminded me that it hit him hard and he landed in bed for 2 days.

Well, the man was right.  I woke up this morning in a stupor.  As I shuffled to the bathroom Rob said “You aren’t going in.”  I told him that I just wanted to see how my voice was and we both ended up laughing because you could barely hear me and my voice is kind of low.

I called my boss a few hours later to let him know.  As soon as he heard my voice he said “That voice!”  Haha.  He was really great about it though.  There was one company that I worked at where my boss would text me asking if I would be in the next day.  She hated covering for me (I ran the front desk) because she actually had to do some work.  Normally, she was able to skate by without doing much and she actually got away with it which still stuns some of us.  Anyway, I never felt at peace when I was sick there, but it is a different story now.

When I think back though, I was the same way with school.  I hated being out sick.  I used to argue with my mom about going.  I think that I hated missing out on lessons because I felt like I was going to fall behind.  The only time I really understood staying home was if I had a fever, I was throwing up or had something like pink eye.

Well, I’m not sure what I’m going to do with myself today.  I have a hard time just sitting around, but my cold is really kicking my butt. It’s such a shame that I can only enjoy the beautiful weather today from the sliding glass door of our kitchen.  I feel like I’m being held hostage!

Rob should be back from a meeting before noon, so at least I won’t be alone.  I’m thinking I might make some tea with honey (my mom’s remedy), fluff my pillows, get back into bed and find a good movie to watch.  Before Rob gets back, maybe I’ll watch a guilty pleasure of Saved By The Bell Reruns or something.

Unlike me, Zack would have used any excuse to stay home.  Am I right? 😉

How are you when it comes to being sick?  Do you push yourself to get to work/school or do you not having a problem taking the day to rest?

Have a great day!

Kim

Leave a Reply

