Now, Back To Our Regularly Scheduled Programming

Dear Readers,

  Please accept my apology for my recent disappearance.  Work has been absolutely, positively a bit insane lately leaving me without a lunch break and working late.  There was no room for blogging in my schedule and my mind was a bit of a mess due to anxiety.

  Oh, there were tears shed last week and many mornings where I felt like a child.  All I kept saying to Rob was “I don’t want to go.”  Alas, things have calmed down and I’m feeling less anxiety. 

I spent the majority of today cleaning and organizing my boss’ office.  He’s been with the company for about 10 years now and never had an assistant before me.  There were loose papers scattered around his office dating back to 2003 and dust blanketed many areas of his desk along with the wine bottles that sprawl across his bookcase.  By the time I was finished I felt like I breathed enough dust for a lifetime! 

My favorite part after I was finished was taking a picture with my cell phone and sending him a picture text with the caption “Do you believe it?”  His response was “Wow! I cannot believe it!  It looks great!”  Haha.  I know he’ll appreciate it even more when he’s actually able to work efficiently.  An entire drawer was filled with reports from 2006 that we don’t even use anymore.  Now, it contains all of his meeting notes filed by date and type of meeting.  Ah, I love when things are clean and organized!

I wish I had taken a before pic, but I do have the after pic to share with you.  His office is still a work in progress, but we’re much better than when I started.  As of Monday you couldn’t see the surface of his desk.  Look at it now though:

Ta Da!

Besides his office, I also tried cleaning up my boss’ e-mail inbox.  Would you believe the man had over 1400 unread e-mails ?!?!  I cleaned them up to 1322, by deleting e-mail chains.  I’m afraid to delete anything else in case it might be important.

Aside from work, I have been getting some gym sessions in.  I have to update my stats page because I FINALLY got my body fat tested last night.  I’ve been wanting to get that done for months!  I’ve been a little obsessed with the scale lately and extremely frustrated with my plateau; however, I keep telling myself that my body composition must have changed.  I’m able to fit in pants I wore 2 summers ago when I was 10 pounds lighter.  I must be doing something right….right?  😉

The trainer and I both came to the conclusion that I’m not eating enough which is preventing me to lose the last bit that I would like.  She, along with Rob and my family, don’t think I really need to lose weight.  Currently, I’m weighing in at about 136 lbs.  My body fat last night came in at 23.27%.  I’m definitely in the healthy range.  I think that if I up my eats a bit I should be sitting pretty by the end of the summer.  At the end of August I have my sister’s engagement party and in October I have a friend’s wedding.  I know that I want to look my best for both occasions and I’m on my way to being at that point.

After getting my body fat tested, I made a quick run to the grocery store, since I never made it over the weekend.  Rob and I were both tired this weekend.  A lot of lying around was done, because we just couldn’t muster the effort to do anything else.  I did have a nice chat over coffee with my sister.  We sat on the boat, soaking in the sun and chatted for about 2 hours.  I have to make a mental note to do that more often.  It’s so relaxing and it was especially nice to spend quality time with my sister.  After whipping up a quick lunch for her and Rob, she left to run errands.  Rob and I headed out to see if there was enough wind for him to play around with his new monsterous kite.  He made quite a few runs on the water with it.  I took pictures and got a bit sea sick from the rocking of the boat and trying to focus the camera on him doing jumps.  I’ll have to get the pictures back from him so I can show you.

Anyway, we headed back to the house, cleaned up, took a nap, ordered in and watched Inception on tv.  It was a nice, relaxing Saturday.

Sunday was Father’s Day.  After having our usual Starbucks weekend breakfast together, Rob went fishing with his dad, brother and nephew.  I got in a great workout and then treated myself to a mani/pedi.  Father’s Day is a rough day for me (and I’m sure my siblings).  I called my dad, but haven’t really celebrated a Father’s Day in about 10 years.  Rob’s brother had invited us to a BBQ at his house to celebrate and it was nice to be surrounded by his family.  I can’t wait to be able to include my family on these types of celebrations.  I know it’s something we’ve been missing for years.  I love being surrounded by family and friends.  It makes me feel whole and loved.

On our way back home, we watched as the sun set.  It was a beautiful evening which we decided to extend by getting into the hot tub until dark.  In moments like those I realize that there’s really nothing for me to complain about.  Life is never going to be perfect, but as long as the good outweighs the bad I’m a happy gal.

Ok, enough rambling.  It’s time for me to get back to work.  Only an hour left and I’m outta here!  Rob has “Guy’s Night” tomorrow night, so I’m going to get as much Rob time as I can this evening.

Wishing you a great remainder of the day!

Kim

 

Leave a Reply

