On a Workout Roll!

Hey There!

Happy Tuesday to you!  I so wish it was Friday.  I’d even take Thursday right now.  Unfortunately, that isn’t the case, but a girl can wish can’t she? 😉

Not to toot my own horn (toot, toot), but I’ve been on a roll with getting to the gym before work most days out of the week lately.  It might be hard to initially get myself out of bed, but let me tell ya, this girl is energized after stepping out of the gym, after my workout. 

When I struggle with waking up so very early (5AM is early for me), I try to visualize how good I’ll feel during my workout and for the rest of the day.  While I’m at the gym I’m feeling much stronger and better about myself.  For awhile, I was feeling very insecure.  Even though I love lifting my insecurities were keeping me from getting in front of the mirrors at the gym.  Between the knee issues, the move, and the job transition I had let my workouts fall by the wayside and I wasn’t as conditioned as I had once been.  No one at my new gym knows me from a hole in the wall, but I was still annoyed with myself and not loving what I was seeing in the mirror. 

I have 2 weddings I’ll be attending between now and next summer.  One of which is my sister’s and I’m one of the Maids of Honor (there are 3 of us because she couldn’t pick between sisters.  Haha. Love her!).  I want to feel and look my best.  No crash diets! No exercising for hours daily!  I’m giving myself ample time to get into the shape I feel most comfortable in my skin at.  So, when I’m at those weddings I can boogy down without feeling self-conscious.  There are much more important things than weight and appearance to be thinking about during these special moments in people’s lives. I want to be living in the present.

I finally feel like my conditioning is closer to where I’d like it to be.  I love watching my muscles re-emerging now, as I’m pumping iron.  There’s nothing like feeling a sense of accomplishment before 7AM, wouldn’t you say?  I think it definitely helps in starting my day on the right foot.  Although, hugs from Rob can do the same. 🙂  

Honestly, I’m feeling much better in many regards lately.  My head feels much clearer than it has in years.  I feel accomplished (and a bit crazed) in my professional life, less obsessed with body image (although that obsession isn’t quite gone yet), having very few and far between eating issues and happy in love.  I need to find a piece of wood to knock on because I don’t want any of that to change.  It’s taken me a long time to get to this point in my life……32 years, in fact.  Maybe I wouldn’t have appreciated it as much if I hadn’t gone through all of the struggles that I have.

There are definitely still things I need to work on, like finding a good strategy to blog more regularly and for reorganizing our house.  I have time on my side and great support to get me through though.  I’m not worried.

Well, this post took a bit of a turn from what I originally intended it to be.  Check back with me soon to make sure I’m still on my workout roll.  I’ll be posting stats over the weekend.

Have a great day!

Kim

Leave a Reply

