Summer Lovin’ Kind of Weekend

Hi Friends,

How was your weekend?  Mine was packed with fun, friends and sunshine.  With my camera being out of commission, after the little swim it had in our canal, I’m upset that I can’t show you the fun that we had.

My weekend started about two hours early on Friday, when work closed early. Nice!  I hopped in my car and bopped to music during the drive home.  Rob surprised me by having the boat home after hibernating at the harbor all winter.  I was so excited to see it out back!  Seeing the boat brought back memories from last summer.  It was the first summer, in what seems like forever, that I truly enjoyed.  I felt like a kid again.  For so many years I either hid myself inside because I was ashamed with how I looked or I had no one to enjoy the sunshine with.  I’m looking forward to a lot more summer fun this year!

Friday night we headed out for hibachi with another couple.  Then, we all made our way across the street to the movie theater to see The Hangover Part II. 

It was a good night overall, except for the TERRIBLE movie seats.  I was so uncomfortable that I kept fidgeting throughout the entire movie and couldn’t fully pay attention.  We made it home around 1:30AM and passed out.

Saturday morning I was exhausted.  I think that stress from the work week and our late night on Friday wiped me out.  I felt like a truck hit me!  It was hard pulling ourselves out of bed (Rob had a rough week, as well), but we made it to get our usual Starbuck’s weekend breakfast and then got started on chores around the house.  I still have boxes to go through from my move and I made a big dent over the course of the day.  Other than that, I made the rest of the house sparkle.  Rob got to work cleaning boat so that it would be ready for our voyage on Sunday. 

By late afternoon we were wiped out and needed a break from all of the cleaning.  Rob headed onto the water to go kiteboarding and I made a trip to the gym to get a quick weight session in.  I always feel better after hitting the gym, especially when I have a yummy protein shake to look forward to when I get home. 

Lately, I’ve been on a coffee protein shake kick.  I actually crave it!  I make a pot of coffee and have it chill overnight.  I then use it as the liquid portion of my shake.  I add a scoop of vanilla protein powder, some ice and some water.  SO GOOD!!

Saturday night we hung out at the house, eating dinner around the coffee table while watching tv.  We knew that the next few days were going to be long ones. 

Sunday our friends from Friday night’s dinner came over and we all jumped onto the boat to see the air show that was being held at Jones Beach.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many boats in such close proximity to one another!  The show was fun.  I’d never been to one before.  We had lunch on the boat and soaked in some of the sun’s rays while watching the show.  The wind blowing through my hair, as we slowly made our way back to the house, made me smile.  It’s such a peaceful feeling.  Being near water brings me to a tranquil peace of mind.  I’ve always been drawn to it.  I’m glad that Rob feels the same way.

After a long day on the water I still needed to get groceries for the week.  I knew that Monday would be a wash because we had a BBQ to go to (at the same couple’s house).  I was kind of dreading it, expecting it to be a mad house with last-minute shoppers grabbing their grilling gear.  It wasn’t bad though.  I stocked the fridge and spent the rest of the night watching movies with Rob on the couch.

Monday morning I woke up with dread in my stomach.  I knew my weekend was coming to a close.  We still had our friends’ BBQ/Pool Party to look forward to though.  While Rob made a Starbuck’s run for us, I made my way to the kitchen to whip up one of my dessert specialties.  It’s always a crowd pleaser, is easy to make and is actually not too bad for you (calorie-wise).

The party was fun, filled with more sunshine, yummy eats and good people.  After it was over, Rob and I took a Sunday drive on a Monday.  We’re thinking of moving to an area nearby our friend’s house and wanted to explore the area a bit.  We made it home, relaxed and headed to bed on the earlier side.  Work was in the near future and we both needed to be rested for the crazy week ahead.

Currently, I’m covering the front desk for our receptionist.  Luckily, I’m able to use the time to blog more freely.  I have a ton of work waiting for me at my desk.  Tonight might be a late one, folks.  I’d still like to make it to the gym after work.  There’s a yoga class I’d like to try out.  I want to speak to the instructor ahead of time to see what she thinks about my knees.

Ok, I’m out of here for now.  I hope that your weekend was filled with as much (or more) summer fun as mine was.

Have a great day!

Kim

Leave a Reply

