Happy 1st Blogiversary, Imperfectly Perfect!

Hi Guys!

How’s this Saturday treating you?  Mine has been fulfilling.  The only thing missing was my man.  He’ll be back soon enough though and I’m looking forward to sharing a long, 3-day, holiday weekend with him next week.

My day started off with a frustrating call to the bank, because I somehow got locked out of accessing one of my accounts.  The result of the call you ask?  All it resulted in was me having to go to the bank.  In the end, all is well and I walked out feeling much better than when I walked in.  Before heading to the bank, I noticed that the swan family was back outside.  I rushed out with some bread to feed them.  In my haste, bread wasn’t the only thing that fell in the water….

No, it wasn’t me.  Haha.  My poor camera took a swim though. 😦  I have it on the counter drying off, but I have a feeling that this one has bit the dust.  Luckily, my sister’s fiance’s father works for Canon and I’m going to see if there might be anything he can do for me.  Fingers are crossed that I’ll get lucky with that.

It’s kind of ironic that my camera fell in the water today of all days.  You see, the only reason I got that camera was because of blogging and today just happens to be exactly one year since my first post.

HAPPY 1 YEAR BLOGIVERSARY, IMPERFECTLY PERFECT!!

When I started on this journey a year ago I didn’t know where it would take me.  All I knew was there are others who have gone through/are going through similar issues as me.  If I could let them see that they aren’t alone…..maybe even help one person out it would be totally worth it for me.

In the end, blogging has also helped me.  Blogging allowed me to take what was weighing on my shoulders and put it out on paper.  Well, not “paper”, but you know what I mean. 🙂

It’s amazing how your world can turn around in such a short amount of time.  A year ago I knew that food issues were still controlling me.  I had missed out on so much of my life already and I didn’t want another 30 years to go by with added regret.  I wanted to prove to myself that not being perfect doesn’t mean that you won’t be happy.  I still continue to put in 100% to whatever I’m trying to accomplish, but I no longer set unrealistic goals.

When I stopped always trying to make others happy, despite what would actually make me happy, my world started to turn around.

When I stopped trying to attain the “perfect” body I was able to feel more fulfilled in life, because I no longer allowed not being “perfect” (or my image of perfect) to hold me back from doing the things I wanted to do.

In this one year alone I stopped swallowing (for the most part) my feelings in order to just allow others to feel ok.  Why should my feelings count any less than another person’s?

As a result, my binges lessened and I started to focus on other things that made me happy.  Over the course of this year, I met Rob, went out of the country for the first (and second) time, went to my first Healthy Living Summit, took my first vacation in over 12 years,got my Health & Wellness Certification, moved to a new state, changed jobs and have become a happy, more fulfilled person overall.

Am I perfect? No.  Who is?

Am I happy?  Most definitely!

My life is perfect just the way it is….imperfectly. 😉

Thank you for sharing this year with me.  All of your comments made me smile and I appreciated your kind words.  I look forward to making this blog better over the course of year #2.  I hope you stick around. 🙂

Kim

Leave a Reply

