The Year Valentine’s Day Came Early

As Valentine’s Day 2011 is coming to a close, this girly is sitting in her living room surrounded by a sea of moving boxes.  Can I tell ya that I’m so unmotivated right now?  Even when I feel full of energy at the end of the work day the commute always seems to do me in.  Ah well, such is life.  Not too much longer of that.  Plus, with daylight staying with us longer each day I know I’ll be back into the groove again once more.

The good thing is that with my boyfriend away until sometime on Sunday I’ll be able to get a lot accomplished in my apartment this weekend.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I can’t wait for that man of mine to be back on the same coast as me, but I never seem to accomplish much when he’s near.  Instead, I focus on skipping (don’t ask….it’s just a little thing we do) and having lots of fun with him.  So, with him away my mind will be in the right place.  A week from today I’ll be back with him again doing our silly little things.

Since we knew we wouldn’t get to see each other on Valentine’s Day we decided to have a dinner in together on Saturday night.  He happens to love risotto and that just happens to be something I’ve never made before.  I pondered over whether I should try something new on a special night and decided to go for it.  It was actually quite easy to make and my boyfriend exclaimed that it was delicious as he jumped up and down after trying a spoonful from the pot, before I served it.  I laughed and was thrilled that he liked it.

Just as I was getting ready to put everything onto the table, I noticed that water was streaming out from the cabinet underneath the kitchen sink.  We’ve had that problem before and usually it’s an easy fix.  I ran down the hall to grab some towels.  I tried to be sneaky, because I didn’t want him to worry about it before we sat down to eat.  He caught me though and the next 30 minutes were spent trying to solve the problem.  To my horror, water started spurting out of the cabinet above the sink. WTH?!?!  Let’s just say his dad did the plumbing in the kitchen.  Enough said?  Yeah, I thought so.  Haha.

FINALLY, we sat down.  Although dinner was a little colder than I would have liked it to have been we both enjoyed it.  Actually, it was pretty picture perfect.  Knowing how much I like the little things that make a home cozy, my boyfriend set a fire for us, put on some music (Bocelli), poured us some wine and lit the candle I had set out.  As I sat down he said, “This is what I always pictured when I moved into this house.”  That made my heart smile.

So, the boyfriend gave dinner a thumbs up.  Two thumbs up to be exact.

His plate:

My plate:

The full spread:

*Sorry I didn’t take more pics.  There was a hungry man at the table who just couldn’t wait to dig in.  There also might have been a tipsy girl.  😉

My boyfriend isn’t really a dessert kind of guy meanwhile I’m the QUEEN of sweet tooths everywhere.  He told me not to bother with dessert, but me being me I had to do a little something.  I love decorating stuff and decided on some chocolate covered strawberries.  Once again I was trying to be a sneak in making these, but……he caught me.

Rob & Kim 🙂

There would have been some white chocolate designs on there, but once he caught me it was all down hill.  I was very proud of myself for making the chocolate heart and initial pieces though.  Once again….the little things that make me happy.

My Valentine’s Day might have come early, but it was just as sweet.  Wishing you all love not only on this holiday, but also the whole year through.

Kim

Leave a Reply

