Ranting & Raving

Happy Friday!

Are you as excited as I am that the 5th day of the work week is finally upon us?  Even with my snow day it seems like this week has been dragging!  Despite how cold it is, the sun is shining and I’m in a good mood.  There’s just something about sunshine that does that to me.  Hopefully, spring is right around the corner for all of us, so we can actually enjoy the sunshine from outside, instead of huddled in our homes.

When the 5pm whistle blows I’m heading back home instead of Long Island.  I have some things to take care of and one of those things is cleaning my disaster of an apartment.  Living out of a suitcase for the past 6ish months has taken a toll on my home headquarters. Usually, I use the weekends to do top to bottom cleaning, but that hasn’t been the case, since I’m hardly ever home on the weekend.  Tonight, I think a good scrub is due.  That way, I’ll return to a picture perfect apartment after visiting my boyfriend.  I think an early Saturday morning gym sesh is also in the cards for me.  I’m actually looking forward to it. 🙂

My gym was recently remodeled and ever since the grand opening the new facility has been PACKED!  No matter what time I go the parking lot is filled to capacity and you have to continuously circle the lot to fight for a space.  It’s so annoying that I’ve actually turned around and gone home on many occasions.  It could be 5am, 2pm or 9pm and that place is overflowing with gym goers.  I’m sure the gym owners are thrilled with all of the memberships they’ve sold.  The facility really is quite beautiful and they have a full schedule of classes that members can enjoy.  Being able to actually get into the facility would help though.  My boyfriend keeps reminding me that I won’t have to deal with it for much longer.  That reminds me, I actually have to give my 30 day notice for cancellation.  Alright, rant over.  Just really annoyed.  😦

Truth be told, I wasn’t the only one ranting today.  People in the town I work in seemed to be in a foul mood today.  Everything was pretty tranquil until I went to make the bank run.  People were literally getting into screaming matches in the parking lot over parking spots.  Jeez!  I couldn’t wait to be on my way.  All I kept thinking was that someone was going to hit my car because they either weren’t paying attention or because they were annoyed.

Now, I’m settled back into work.  There’s word that the president may be leaving early, which means that we’ll be leaving early too.  😉  Not going to complain about getting a head start on my weekend!  That’s something to rave about.

Another thing that deserves a good rave is a healthy dessert I’ve been eating quite frequently.  I guess you could call it a healthified apple crisp.  Not only is it healthy, but it’s tasty, filling and easy to make.

This bowl of deliciousness included:

  • 1 Apple
  • 1/2 cup 0% Fage
  • 1/4 cup Kashi GoLean Crisp – Toasted Berry Crumble (Have you tried this?  It’s SO good!)
  • Dash of Cinnamon or Apple Pie Spice

Directions:

  1. Cut the apple into chunks.
  2. Sprinkle the apple chunks with your choice of seasoning and sweetener (I used Apple Pie Spice & Splenda).
  3. Saute the apples in a pan with a little water, until they are tender (like apple pie filling).  You could probably also nuke the apple.
  4. Layer your bowl as you wish and add an extra dash of seasoning to make it pretty.

5. Use your finger to get the last remnants from the bottom of your bowl.


Speaking of the bowl, this one was really cute (sorry for the bad lighting and blurry pics).  Each side depicts a different picture.  I told ya, it’s the little things that make me happy. 🙂

On that note, I have one last thing to rant about….my computer at work!  This post took FOREVER to write because my computer stinks.  That is all. 🙂

Have a wonderful weekend!

Kim

Leave a Reply

