Time To Get Down To Business

Hey Guys!

Sorry I never made back here last night.  After battling traffic on the ride home I wasn’t exactly in the best mood.  I camped out on my couch for the remainder of the evening and then headed to bed during the wee hours of the morning.  Four hours of sleep is decent, right?  Yeah, I didn’t think so.  My commute struggles didn’t end there, because when I woke up this morning it was snowing.  AGAIN!!!  There were a number of accidents on my beloved 95 and it took me two hours to get to work.  TWO HOURS!  I only went 6 exits over the course of the first hour.  The last half hour things broke up and I was able to skedaddle on down to my office.

Can you believe January is almost over?  If you haven’t already been inundated with hearts, flowers, chocolate candies and the like, you will shortly.  I feel like most people’s Christmas trees weren’t on the curb before Valentine’s Day items were in full display.

Besides wondering what in the world I’ll be getting the man who has everything (aka my boyfriend) for V-Day, I’m already kicking myself for not staying on course with my New Year’s goals that I set in place.  Sometimes, life just kind of gets in the way, you live in the moment and forget to keep your eyes on the prize.  There are many things that I’m still on course with.  In the coming months I’m going to have a lot of positive stuff to share with you guys.  So, stick with me, ok?  😉

Seriously though, it’s time for me to get my butt in gear.  I’ve been pretty good about blogging more often, but I have even bigger dreams for this little blog world of mine.  Changing the layout was a start, but I’m thinking….bigger, better, more pictures, consistent timing of posts, etc.  You get the idea.  Doing all of this might be possible for me in the near future.  I need to work some kinks out with my work schedule, but there are plans in place.

Sometimes my life doesn’t seem all that interesting and I’m not exactly sure what to write.  Other times, I feel like there’s a party going on in my head and I’m BURSTING at the seams with ideas.  Either way, I’m just going to start writing and see what comes out.  Once I sit down to write I find that I actually do have things to say.

Aside from the blog, my fitness goals have gone out the window.  Ever since that session with my therapist I have been much better with not having binges, but I’m not 100% binge free.  I hope that day comes for me one day, but I realize that this is probably something I’m going to struggle with for life.  I will NEVER let it win, though.

About a week ago I announced that I was going to enter the Body For Life Challenge.  I took pictures (Scary folks, SCARY!!), planned my workouts, created a BFL binder (to hold all of my workout & meal planning sheets) and stocked up on groceries.  I noticed on the BFL website that they still had all of the information up from their 2010 challenge.  If you haven’t noticed, I like to plan and I like to have all the facts.  So, I hopped onto twitter and sent a message to EAS asking if they were going to have an official 2011 challenge.  They confirmed that they are, but info won’t be up on their site for another week or so.  Around that same time, my boyfriend happily announced that we’ll be going on vacation mid-February.  Ahhhh, warm weather and sandy beaches are right around the corner for me!!!!    This threw a little wrench in my plans though, as excited as I am.  So, I decided that my official challenge will begin upon my return.  Don’t get me wrong, I won’t be going hog-wild eating fattening food and not working out.  That just isn’t the case.  I’m going to eat healthy, workout, but not feel the pressure of being “perfect” while I’m on vacation.  It’s all about setting ourselves up for success.  I know that putting that pressure on myself to try to be perfect while being on vacation will only lead to bad things.  Therefore, I refuse to put myself in that situation.  Challenge or not, tomorrow morning I have a date with the gym a day filled with yummy, yet healthy eats.

I feel like I’m talking in circles now.  Do you think I’m talking in circles?  I think I’m talking in circles!  At the ripe old age of 31 (32 in March. ACK!!), 10pm hits and my brain is just done.  Know what I mean?  I think it’s time for me to shut things down for the night.  I guess what I wanted to throw out there is that I’m going to take the time to refocus and take a good look at the goals I set out for myself earlier this month.  It’s good to have goals, but even better to have a plan in place so that you can achieve those goals.  In the coming weeks, I will share my plan of action to reaching the goals (blog, fitness, friends/family, etc) I set out for myself and which I so quickly seem to have let fade away in less than a month.  It’s time to get down to business!

Signing off now.  I hope you had a great day and a relaxing night!

Kim

Leave a Reply

