Monotonous Monday

Hi Friends!

Another Monday and this one is gray & drizzly.  I totally could have stayed in bed for hours longer this morning, but I knew that I had to get my workday groove on.  So, I sucked it up, rolled out from beneath the snuggly covers and trudged to the shower to wake myself up.  The first splash of water woke me from my zombie-like state.  Plus, I promised myself a Starbucks coffee if I could just get myself going.  I was driving to work from Long Island this morning.  With school starting for the kiddos soon I wanted to make sure that I allotted myself enough time to get to work.  I’m not really familiar with the traffic out on the island, but I’ve heard some horror stories and I didn’t want to have my own to add to the bunch.  Even with the stop and go traffic I made it to work with 20 minutes to spare.  Nice!  I love being early so I can just settle into my day instead of feeling rushed.

My tummy was in an uproar this morning.  It was famished and didn’t want to wait another second for something to eat.  During the hour and a half drive to the office I contemplated what I was going to feed it.  On this cold and overcast day I was feeling like a nice, warm, stick to your ribs kind of breakfast.  I knew I had oatmeal at the office and I had saved a jar of peanut butter that I had used up last week.  I also had a baggy of protein powder in my gym bag, which I keep for emergency situations.  Chocolate protein oats in a jar came to mind immediately.  I’ve never tried oats in a jar, even though I’ve been reading about them for over a year now.  After throwing my breakfast together I had only one question for myself.  What took you so long to try this?!?!  The warm swirls of peanut butter through my chocolate protein oats were a great treat and a perfect way to start such a gloomy Monday morning.

In my excitement to try my breakfast and because of my famished state, I devoured my jar of oats without taking a picture. 😦 This was bottom of the jar good though.

Bottom of the Jar Good!

I kept scraping the jar with my spoon, wishing there was more.  You should definitely give it a try if you’ve never had it before!

Now, it’s time to get on with my day.  Today is a bit slow here, but I’m not complaining because I know that the rest of the week will be a whirlwind.  This is the week every month where I send the rent bills out to all of our tenants.  It’s a very time-consuming process, but I actually enjoy it in some weird way.  I guess it’s because I like to keep busy.

I’ll be back later to describe the goals I’ve set up for myself for the fall.  Speaking of fall, can you believe that it’s already upon us?  This summer flew!

Wishing you a wonderful Monday and that the week ahead is a smooth one for you!

Kim

Leave a Reply

