Mind Over Matter

Hey There!

Sorry it’s been a little while since my last post.  My fridge and cabinets are pretty bare right now and I didn’t want to bore you with multiple pics of my recently bland eats.  I need to get to the grocery store to do a major shopping, but might try to make do with what I have since I’ll be away this weekend and next weekend is…THE HLS!!  I CAN’T WAIT!

Besides being away, by the end of September I’ll be moving (again…..errr).  I don’t think I’ve ever really mentioned this on the blog, but I have moved more times than I care to remember.  Sometimes, more than once in a year!  On top of my own moves, my mom has had to move multiple times over the past few years, as well.  I think she’s finally situated in a great place for a while, so I’m happy for her!  Me, on the other hand; if I hear the sound of packing tape again I may just go out of my mind!  I’m getting off course with my thoughts though.  I just mentioned the move because I don’t want my cabinets to be fully stocked. I want the least amount to move as possible!  The thought of it all is bugging me out, so let’s move on, shall we?

When I started writing this blog, back in May, I had reached a point in my life where I just wasn’t going to settle anymore.  My struggles with my weight, disordered eating and lack of self-confidence were running my life….ruining it.  I missed out on doing the things that would make me happy and a better person.  In many respects, I have led a very sheltered life.  As one person in my life likes to phrase it, “I’m like a kid in a candy store” with some of the simplest things. What pushes me is that I don’t want to wake up old one day and regret everything that I’ve missed out on in my life.  I can’t get my 20s back, no matter how many times I wish on stars or cry in my bed at night.  The reality is that it just isn’t going to happen.

When that realization hit me I made the move from my prior job to this one.  It was something I needed to do for my health and my mind.  I also went from being a lurking blog reader to writing my own, since it was a great creative outlet and a good way to get my thoughts off of my chest.  Lastly, I signed up for the certification course because not majoring in nutrition is something I have regretted for years.

There are certain things that are out of our control, but sometimes I don’t think that we realize how much power we have in changing our lives for the better.  What I do have control over is shaping my future to be what I’d like it to be.  Sitting around and complaining over what we don’t like will never make things change, but taking action will at least give us the possibility of reaching our goals.  I will have rough days, slip ups and times I just might want to give up, but its mind over matter, right?  I don’t want to waste anymore of my life just sitting back and letting the chips fall wherever they may.  I’m taking the reigns and making my life what I’d like it to be!  It’s long overdue, but it’s finally time to be happy!

Reminders of My Long Term Goals:

  1. Live a healthy, fit & balanced life.
  2. Keep strong relationships with loved ones.
  3. Finish my health & wellness certification.
  4. Work on making my blog the best it can be.
  5. Continue learning/pursuing my passions (photography, cooking/baking, decorating, wine, athletic adventures, fitness, nutrition, etc)….hopefully, make them into my career, at some point.
  6. Travel
  7. Become more financially fit.
  8. Get a puppy (when the time is right)
  9. Be open to love (no matter how scared I am of being hurt).
  10. Be happy being me, imperfections and all!

Well, I should be getting back to this nuisance called work.  It pays the bills though, ya know?  I hope you are having a wonderful week!  Can you believe it’s already August?!?!

Kim

One thought on “Mind Over Matter

Leave a Reply

