Monsoon on a Monday

Happy Monday Guys!

In typical Monday morning fashion, I woke up deer eyed and confused as to what day it was.  I could have rolled over and slept another hour (or three), but then the Monday morning panic hit me and I jumped up to start getting ready.

I was supposed to get up early and go to the gym.  I was also supposed to get all my meals for the day prepped last night, before bed.  Neither ended up happening though.  The heat in my apartment has been RIDICULOUS lately.  I don’t have central air, but do have AC box units.  Unless I’m sitting right next to the unit, nothing really seems to help.  I’ve been sleeping horribly, as a result, and feel like a walking zombie!  Between the heat and lack of sleep, I’ve been getting lots of headaches.  😦  So, I’ve been off my game, lately.   That leads me to apologizing for my disappearing act on my blog lately.  I’ve missed writing, but just haven’t had it in me.  Sorry guys!  I intend to make that up to you!!

Ok, let’s re-track to earlier this morning.  I hurriedly got ready, threw a bunch of randomness into my lunch bag and then bound out the door to head to the train station.  I got there in record time (helps not having all the buses taking up the roads in the morning) and soaked in some sunshine as I waited for my train to arrive.  The sun was actually blinding as I stood there, but that would quickly change, come to find out.

A few minutes into my ride I no longer needed my sunglasses.  The sky continued to get darker and darker as we made our way south.  Eventually, I heard a man a few seats away from me yelling that he saw a tornado from his window. What?!?!  We hit one of the major hubs and people hurriedly rushed onto the train, soaked.   You could see the wind literally throwing them around.  Then it hit me….Did I have my umbrella on me?  Luckily, I keep a small one tucked away in the humongous bag I lug to and from work daily.  Monsoon?  Technically not, but it sure felt like one as I made my way up the avenue to work…..battling the gushes of wind and rain.

I couldn’t walk as quickly as I would have liked because I was wearing flip-flops and my toes had to grip down in order for them not to slide off my feet, because of the rain.  LOL.  Normally, I’m a bit of a speed walker.  Somehow, I got to work not looking like a drowned rat.  I said my hellos to my fellow coworkers and then made my way to the kitchen to throw breakfast together.  My belly was loudly grumbling by this point and I couldn’t wait to get some food into it!  My breakfast of choice this morning was some Chobani mixed with Fiber One, mango and fresh berries.

Of course, my usual cup o’ joe was consumed moments after inhaling breakfast.  It was much needed and appreciated!

COFFEE!!

Monday Mini Goals:

I must admit that I was a total slacker last week.  I don’t think that I accomplished any of the goals I had set out for myself, besides meeting 2 new people.  So, let’s try again, shall we?

  1. Workout at least 4x.
  2. Try yoga.
  3. Finish the next unit in my nutrition book.
  4. Blog at least 5x.
  5. Make 1 new recipe.
  6. Prep myself (meals, workout gear, clothes, etc) the night before.

That’s where I stand, as of now.  The office is very quiet today and I don’t know how I’m going to make it through.  I hate being bored!  Oh, maybe I’ll be able to catch up on all of my blog reading.  Sounds like a plan to me! 🙂

I hope wherever you are your Monday is a great one and that you’re able to ease into this new week.


Kim

4 thoughts on “Monsoon on a Monday

  1. Glad you are back! I miss your musings when you are gone–stuff gets in the way though so I understand!

    good luck with your goals.

    I’m having a prep myself goal as well!

    • I used to do the same thing. I still sometimes do. Looking at the big picture can definitely be discouraging, so I try to figure out what my long term goals are and then break them down into pieces that will eventually get to that long term goal. It really helps! Thanks for stopping by, Liz!

Leave a Reply

