Renewed

Hey Guys!

I can’t believe it’s been a week since I’ve done a real post.  On Tuesday this post was going to be titled “The Never Ending Journey Home” and on Wednesday it would have been titled “Bad String of Luck”.  By Thursday I was starting to think that I might have broken a mirror at some point during the week without realizing it because nothing seemed to be going my way.

I’m feeling renewed now though.  It’s all because of a conversation I had with a new friend who has the same passion for life that I do.  Over dinner last night, we spoke about ideas that we have for future projects, farmer’s markets, what being “healthy” really means, family values and the list goes on.  The conversation re-lit my spark and I’m ready to move forward with whatever the future may hold.

What also renewed my motivation was a trip to see my grandmother yesterday.  She’s had Alzheimer’s for years now.  We’ve watched her condition progressively get worse and it’s heartbreaking to see her.  She just lays in bed or sits in her wheel chair.  She’s unable to communicate with us and I’m not even sure if she recognizes us anymore.  Every so often we’ll get a nod from her, in response to something, but that’s about it.  What makes me so sad is that my grandmother had a true passion for life.  She was ALWAYS doing something.  She never drove a car, but was able to get to whatever it was that interested her.  Her family was her life and she created so many wonderful memories for me during my childhood.  Seeing her reminded me not to let a day pass by without making the most of it.

I have LOTS to do today.  Not so much fun stuff, but errands and cleaning.  At some point today I’m meeting up with a friend for coffee and possibly a walk around the lake.  As of now, our plans aren’t set in stone.  Recently, she joined Match.com and has been on a whole string of dates.  It seems like she actually found someone who she really likes and I’m excited to get together with her to hear what they’ve been up to!

Before anything could get done today I needed to eat something….stat!  Yesterday was a day of rushing around and all I consumed was a sushi dinner.  So, when I woke up this morning my belly let me know that it was STARVING.  The grumbles were ridiculous!  I tried to quiet them down with a few strawberries as I got to cooking my Sunday Blueberry Pancakes.  Nestled along side were a couple of protein packed egg whites and of course my meal wouldn’t be complete without coffee. 

Iced Hazelnut Creme coffee felt like a treat with the heat today.

Now, my belly is completely satisfied and I have enough energy to get started with the laundry list of errands that need to get done. 

With this whole feeling of renewal, I know that I’d like to make my blog the best it can possibly be.  What would you like to see more of on my blog?  What are some suggestions you have for making it better?

I hope that you’re having a wonderful weekend!  Rain or shine, try to find a positive every day.  We are each only alloted a certain amount of days in our lifetime and should try to make the most of them!

Kim

One thought on “Renewed

  1. First of all, nice presentation on your food! Looks great.

    My great grandmother passed away from Alzheimers. It was a sad thing. She forgot how to eat, forgot who her husband was, and wouldn’t bath unless forced. But, like you said, she lived a great life.

Leave a Reply

