The Horror!

Good Morning & Happy Friday to Ya!

I got an unexpected day off today!  The sun is shining, the birds are chirping and I decided to deal with this…..

Eek!  It’s like one of my worst nightmares magnified!  The Horror!!

I got an apartment with a second bedroom so I could have friends from out of town and family stay over.  I wanted a big girl’s apartment, ya know?  Well, my mom ended up moving about a month ago and all of my memory boxes are now consolidated at my place.  Random things from her garage and basement, like my ice skates, roller blades and books from childhood are now overflowing from my second bedroom.  Besides all of that, one of my sisters moved around the time that I moved into this apartment and some of her stuff is stored here too.  Ahhhh!   Things are completely out of control!

I admit, I’ve been kind of lazy.  I have a small storage area in the basement that a lot of this stuff could fit into and be organized within.  I’m just one person though and there’s a lot of stuff to be moved.  The weekends are either rainy and I won’t go outside or they’re sunny and I’d much rather be out doing something else.  Can ya blame me? 😉

So, despite the gorgeous weather outside, I’m grounding myself so I can get this all cleaned up.  I’ll still have the next two days to go outside and play.  In fact, tomorrow I’m going to hang out with a friend I haven’t seen in over a year!  We’re going to go for a walk and then head to our favorite coffee place.  I’m looking forward to it! 

Before I head into the disaster area, here’s what I ended up having for breakfast:

A bowl of Kashi Heart-to-Heart with some fresh berries and unsweetened vanilla almond milk was the core of my meal.  Cereal doesn’t usually keep me full for long.  It’s hot here today though folks and I wanted something light and cold.  I gave the meal a protein punch by having a few egg whites on the side. 

A tall, blueberry cobbler iced coffee made my meal complete! 

Can you believe yesterday was the first time I’ve ever successfully ventured into making my own iced coffee?  It’s so easy!  My mom and I had tried a few years ago, but didn’t realize that we had to double the amount of coffee grinds, so our iced coffee turned out very diluted.  We never tried again.  I never have time before work to run out to get an iced coffee because I’m always running late.  This will help me get my morning started right!  Plus, one of my goals is to start saving money and if I’m always out buying coffee I’ll be working against myself, right? Right!

Ok, I’ve procrastinated long enough.  It’s time to make myself go into that horror of a second bedroom and get to work.  I still have a little of my iced coffee to sip on.  Maybe that will help get me through the mess.  Hopefully, I’ll be back later on with good news about my successful completion of the room.  If you don’t hear from me, someone come looking.  The room may have just swallowed me whole!

Have a great day!

Kim

Leave a Reply

