Staying The Course

Ever feel like you spread yourself way too thin?  You make commitments to multiple projects and realize that you aren’t being your best in every area.  That’s how I’m starting to feel right now.  For whatever reason, I decided to make a lot of changes all at once in my life.  A new job, my health & wellness course, the blog, my fitness program….and the list goes on.  As we all know by now, I’m a perfectionist and it’s bothering me that certain things aren’t “just” right.  Nothing is going to be perfect; however, I know that I need a lil kick in the rear to do some things better.  Unlike the past, I won’t just quit because everything isn’t just so.  This time, I’m staying the course and will just do things to the very best of my ability.

For one, I need to be more consistent posting in here and get in a regular schedule with it.  Every Sunday I’m going to post my goals for the week in here.  Maybe, if I let others see my goals, it will help keep me accountable.  I really like seeing things in writing.  Practically any scrap of paper you find at my desk or in my apartment has some sort of list scribbled all over it.  There are lists in my gym bag, in my car and probably even under my bed. 😉  I love them though, so why not post one here, ya know?  On Saturday, I’ll repost my goals and let you know if I accomplished them.  What do you think?

As for today, I can’t say there was anything exciting going on.  The computer system I use at work for the majority of my projects was on the fritz, so I got to read some of my favorite blogs and even found a few old friends along the way.  🙂

I really think that my late night on Friday is still catching up to me.  I was EXHAUSTED pulling myself out of bed this morning.  No gym for this girly today, but I will be sure to get there over the next 5 days.  I have my plan and I’m sticking to it!!

My eats were pretty standard “Kim” meals today.  I need to start thinking outside the box.  My tummy was grumbling from the moment my eyes fluttered open this morning.  I held off until I got to work because I definitely would have been late if I stopped my prettifying process to nosh on something. 

To the kitchen I trotted, as soon as I walked in the door of my office.  I made coffee and cooked some oatmeal mixed with All Whites and 1/4 of an apple.  A sprinkle of cinnamon and splenda spiced it up nicely for me.

Not Pretty BUT Definitely Tasty!

 

After taming my belly, my coworker and I got started on our office antics.  We got some work done too.  Just so ya know. 😉  Actually, I got to be creative today and design our company’s new envelopes.  Of course, in the midst of it all, our computers had to be shut down and somehow all of my work was lost!  Thankfully, I have a good memory and was able to recreate what I had worked on.  My memory is definitely a positive, but can also be a negative sometimes.  You know, when you remember things that you wish you really didn’t.  Anyway……

Lunch was an unpictured Muscle Milk Light RTD. Chocolate flavor, if you’re really wondering.  With it was another quarter of my apple and about 1/2 an ounce of almonds.  Afterwards, I ran up to the park to get some reading in and also soak up a little sun.

My snack also went unphotographed. Bad blogger. 😦  It was truly yummy though.  I mixed 1/4c of raw oatmeal with a snack sized 0% Fage and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours.  By snack time it was ready to be devoured w/ the remainder of my apple.

A few hours later I was on my way back to the train.  I enjoyed a peaceful ride and then made the trek to my car.  I raced home to get dinner started.  I have no idea why I was so hungry today, because there was nothing out of my norm that would cause the hunger.  I knew I was going to be creating something with the ground turkey I had waiting for me in my fridge.  I decided to make it with an Italian twist.  Guys, I even took pics. 😉 

In The Mix:

  • 4oz Extra Lean Ground Turkey
  • 1/2 Baby Zucchini
  • Sliced Onion and Mushroom
  • 1/4c Kidney Beans
  • 1/4c Mushrooms
  • 1tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4c Tomato Sauce (I used a garlic flavored sauce)
  • Sprinkle of Parm (made it complete)

Perfecto!!

Well, that’s all she wrote, folks.  For tonight, that is.  Hope you enjoy the remainder of your evening.  I’ll be hitting the books for a bit and then it’ll be time to RELAX!  🙂

3 thoughts on “Staying The Course

  1. Your dinner was by far my favorite meal of yours! looks really good. Oh, and dont be afraid to eat the whole apple at one meal and then dive into another at a different meal! Apples are only like 80 cals—your hard workin body can handle it.

    What books will you be hitting?

    • Thank you, my friend. Working on it. 🙂 It hit me today that some things are just not meant for me. I don’t know why I keep pursuing something that never ends up being the healthiest for me. I think maybe it’s the thought that I’ll feel satisfied if I conquer it. I always think of you and your negative thought about being able to eat an apple, that one time. I think I’m going to stick with the workouts, but make my meal plan my way. The program I’m on only has me eating a certain amount of fruit in one sitting, which is why I only had part of the apple. I can see the set up isn’t right for me.

      I’m finishing the remainder of Breaking Dawn. Intuitive Eating is next on my list. I remember you mentioning it on O2 and I bought it…just never read it. You reading anything now?

  2. What plan are you on?

    Yes, I feel like any plan that restricts my fruit isn’t for me anymore. I mean–it’s fruit! Vitamins, minerals, fiber, antoxidants, water! I will NEVER allow myself to get to a place where I am scared about eating an extra apple that wasn’t on a plan. I just can’t do it.

    Heck, any plan that restricts anything isn’t for me anymore. Do I weigh more than I did when I restricted some of those things? Yes. Am I happier in life? Yes.

    Funny thing is–I’m actually slowly losing weight and I’m not restricting at all. Eating M & M’s here and there and just whatever.

    You NEED to read Intuitive Eating. IT was life changing for me. Once I read it, I vowed not to follow plans anymore–just follow what my mind and body is telling me to eat.

Leave a Reply

