I Scream, You Scream…

We All Scream for Ice Cream!

Hey Guys,

I must admit that I have a sweet tooth and ice cream is one of my favorite treats.  My mom used to get so annoyed with me, when I lived at home.  Every time she’d go to get some ice cream for herself she’d find that all the little bits (cookie dough, chocolate chips, swirl, etc) would be picked out.  Haha.  If you could see me you’d know that I’m hanging my head guiltily. 

Ice cream used to be a trigger food for me.  If I knew it was in the freezer there would be a 99.9% chance that it would be coming out for some BL&Ts (Bites, Licks & Tastes), at some point during the day.  I found that if I bought plain ice cream, without any of those deliciously good bits that I so enjoy, I was able to resist much more easily.  I’d go in for just one or two bites, thinking that would do no harm, but it never just ended up as one or two bites.  It was almost as if once the sugar was in my system I was craving more.  I’d look down and 1/4-1/2 the container would be gone.  How’d that happen?  Then, I’d feel horrible about myself and put the container away.  If I hadn’t had dinner yet, I wouldn’t eat anymore for the rest of the day.

Now, I only keep popsicles in my freezer.  Can’t just go take a BL or T out of that.  Plus, I get the kind that are only 15-30 calories a pop.  My freezer is much less fun looking these days, but my body thanks me for it.  So, what do I do when it’s scorching outside and I want more than one of my treats on a stick?  I make my own ice cream.  Protein ice cream, to be exact.  It hits the spot, but it’s much healthier for me and I only make one serving at a time, so there’s no reason to go overboard.

So Creamy

So Thick

You Can Eat It With a Spoon

Maybe Even Garnish It With Fat Free Whipped Cream 🙂

I ❤ It

In My Protein Ice Cream:

  • 1/2 cup Unsweetened Almond Breeze (can use milk, soy milk or water, if you choose)
  • 1 scoop Chocolate BSN Lean Dessert Protein Powder (banana nut would have been good too)
  • 1/2 of a Frozen Banana
  • 3 Large Ice Cubes
  • 1/2 tsp Xantham Gum
  • 1/2 Tbsp Sugar Free Fat Free Pudding Mix
  • Extra Water if you need more liquid during the blending process
  1. Add all ingredients into your blender (I use the Magic Bullet).
  2. Add extra water, as needed.
  3. Once finished blending, stick into the freezer for 5 minutes or eat right away.
  4. Enjoy!

*There are so many options with this.  You can change the flavor of the protein powder, the pudding mix and what fruit you use.  I stick to about a 1/2 cup of frozen fruit.  One of my favorite mixes is vanilla flavored protein powder and frozen sweet black cherries (pits removed).  SO GOOD!!  You can even add those bits that I seem to love, if you really wanted to.  Throw in some chocolate chips, chopped up pieces of fruit or even a little crushed cookie, if you’re in the mood.  Play around with it and let me know what you think and what your favorite combos are.  Don’t forget the xantham gum, though.  That really is the star in the thickening process.

Hope you’re having a wonderful holiday weekend!

Kim

Leave a Reply

