A Sea of Red & Berry

Hi There, Friends!

  Happy Valentine’s Day!

My office is a sea of red and berry colors today.  I didn’t realize it would be such a big deal here, but most of the girls in my office added a splash of V-Day color to their outfit choice for today.  Yep, I was one of them.

  It was actually cute to see and reminded me of my elementary school days.

Know what else reminded me of those days so long ago? Some of these:

Dunkin Donuts "Cupid's Choice Heart Shaped Donuts"

 Back in the day, all you got were these regular ol’ donuts though.

As cute as they were, heart-shaped or not, there was no way one of those suckers was going anywhere near my mouth. ;)

If you know me, you know how much I love tradition.  I tend to live in the past, at times.  I find comfort there because I felt quite safe as a child aside from those school bullies I had to tend with from time to time.  So, the donuts reminded me of a happy time and put a smile on my face as I heated up my oatmeal and grabbed a mug of the worst coffee.

Normally, a donut as a treat would be perfectly fine.  However, remember, I’m only one week into my new nutrition and training program and want to stay on track.  I have 16 weeks to transform myself into my goal image….a bikini model.  It just so happens that 2 days after my 16 weeks are over there’s a fitness competition a few hour drive away.  Hmmm….let’s just say the wheels are turning. ;)

I may not have started my Valentine’s Day off with one of these hearts… 

However, I ate something just as yummy that’s good for this heart of mine.

My new favorite breakfast go-to is a mixture of oatmeal and egg whites (mixed before cooking), topped with blueberries which I soaked in caramel flavored flaxseed oil & sprinkled with a dash of cinnamon and ginger.

Mmmm….That’s a hot bowl of hearty goodness!  So good and so good for you!  It makes my belly happy and keeps me full for hours!

Fitness Program Check-In:

  • NutritionON!  Would you believe the hardest part for me is fitting all of my meals in over the weekend?  True, true!  I even packed all of my meals up for the day and just couldn’t do it.  I’ll have to work on that next weekend. Not a bad problem to have, huh?
  • Workouts – ON!  I’m even a day ahead of schedule this week. :)
  • Results - I think the best part of this is that I’m feeding my body what it truly needs and not starving it.  I haven’t had any disordered eating problems AT ALL over the week, which is one of the best possible things for me to experience.  I also happen to be down two pounds and my jeans are falling off me.  Rob continues to tell me that I no longer have a butt.  Believe me, it’s there.  It just doesn’t take up as much space as it used to. ;)  All in all, a great first week!

With that, I must run to do that thing we call work.  I can’t wait for the day that mypassions and my work to merge to become one.  That day is getting closer, my friends. :)

Do you have any special plans for Valentine’s Day? Rob and I decided we will celebrate over the weekend instead of trying to cram everything in after work tonight.  Tonight I’m just going to make him a special dinner and cuddle on the couch watching our shows.

Sending lots of love your way! 

<3

Kim

One thought on “A Sea of Red & Berry

  1. “I think the best part of this is that I’m feeding my body what it truly needs and not starving it. I haven’t had any disordered eating problems AT ALL over the week, which is one of the best possible things for me to experience.”
    ———THIS IS SO AWESOME TO HEAR!
    I am embarking on a similar journey myself, well its a journey for HEALTH. I am finally feeling motivated to eat healthier and to enjoy food for the nutrients it has in it. I am about to have my FIRST ever green smoothie!

Leave a Reply

