Welcome to Imperfectly Perfect!

What brought me to this moment?  This moment where I thought it would be a SPECTACULAR idea to put my thoughts, quirks, tears, smiles, struggles, triumphs, imperfections and strengths out into this little thing known as the World Wide Web.  Well, it all started a little over a year ago, while I was inconsistently journaling on a fitness site.  While reading another girl’s journal, I stumbled across the link to something called a blog – something I was unfamiliar with, at the time. That blog happened to be Gina’s and my life would never be the same.  I was instantly addicted and my love affair of reading healthy living blogs began.  My blog perusing spread to others, such as the blogs of Tina, Caitlin, Jenna, Meghann and Janetha; however, I read so many that there are too many to even mention right here.

Being stuck in a job that was going nowhere fast - a job that allowed me to constantly surf the web for 9+ hours a day, you can only imagine how much blog reading I accomplished.  I’d say I hit at least 30-40 blogs on an average day.  Thank goodness for them though.  I don’t know how I would have survived those 9 hours of torture without them to occupy me.  At that time, I was feeling lost in my own life, yet I was reading about these wonderful women who were making something of themselves.  They were meeting new people, making a difference in the community, touching others’ lives (probably without even realizing it sometimes), using their creative talents, being inspirations, experiencing what the world has to offer and accomplishing wonderful things (Ex: races, book deals, raising money for worthy causes, etc.).  Yet, there I sat; day after day, in an environment that could best be described as toxic for my health.  Over time, a spark lit within me.  I knew there was more to me than what I was allowing myself to be.  I was in a vicious cycle of hating my life, becoming depressed and unmotivated, and then finding the strength to rise from it all.  Something needed to be done and I was the only one that could do it. 

Three weeks ago I started a new job.  I feel so much more fulfilled and my days go by in a flash!  I don’t get to read as much of my beloved blogs, but I still get to check in to my faves.  My heart has always wanted to get myself into nutrition, in some form or another.  If you read my story you’ll know why.  So, along with my full time job, I’ve decided to start this blog of my very own.  I’m also studying to get my certification as a health and wellness consultant.  I’ll be able to bring home the bacon, while still enjoying a passion of mine.  Sounds great to me!

If you haven’t guessed from the name of my blog, I’m a perfectionist.  I also tend to be a pleaser.  Both of these things combined can sometimes lead to disaster.  I definitely am my own worst enemy, at times, but I’m learning.  There’s a great quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson that says, “Most of the shadows of this life are caused by standing in one’s own sunshine.”  That is me, to a T, but this girl is ready to move out of her own way!

Well, I think this first post is long enough.  Don’t want to bore you, just yet.  ;)  When I return, I’ll go more into depth about my blog title and some of my history.  Basically, this blog is the journey of a girl learning to LIVE life again, in a balanced & healthy way.  I’ll be working at being consistent in my fitness endeavors, pushing myself out of my comfort zone, making yummy eats, and living life to its fullest! 

Thanks for reading and I look forward to getting to know you!! :)

PS: Bare with me as I discover the ins and outs of WordPress and pull my camera out from hibernation.  I promise there with be lots of pics!  I know I love seeing them in other blogs and there will be a fair share of them here too!

Leave a Reply

